## GUFFStuff 4 April 1999

Published by the European administrator, Joseph Nicholas, to summarise the results of the voting in the 1999 GUFF race to send a European fan to the forthcoming Australian Worldcon in Melbourne.

By the deadline of midnight on Easter Monday 5 April 1999, a total of 86 ballots had been received by the European and Australian administrators of the Going Under/Get Up-and-over Fan Fund - 71 by the European administrator, Joseph Nicholas, and 15 by the Australian administrator, Karen Pender-Gunn. The administrators did not of course vote themselves.

The first-round voting figures were as follows:

	UK	Aus	Total
Steve Davies	29	2	31
Julian Headlong	20	6	26
Paul Kincaid	20	7	27
No Preference	2	-	2
Hold Over Funds	-	-	-

The Australian preferential voting rules under which GUFF balloting is run require that the winning candidate achieve a majority of the votes cast. As no candidate had achieved such a majority at the end of the first round of voting, it was necessary to discard the first-place votes for the lowest-ranking candidate and redistribute the second preferences on those ballots.

Following this redistribution, the second-round voting figures were as follows:

	UK	Aus	Total
Steve Davies	38	3	41
Paul Kincaid	31	12	43

(The final totals do not match the actual total of ballots received because two of the voters expressed no preference beyond their first.)

Paul Kincaid thus crept to victory in a very close race. His travel plans will presumably still be under development, but he may be contacted at 60 Bournemouth Road, Folkestone, Kent CT19 5AZ

The following fans (European and North American) cast their votes with the European administrator:

Michael Abbott; Jae Leslie Adams; Arnold Akien; Margaret Austin; Amanda Baker; Cherith
Baldry; Allen Baum; Covert Beach; Douglas Bell; Austin Benson; Tony Berry; Pamela Boal; Vijay
Bowen; Bridget Bradshaw; Simon Bradshaw; Claire Brialey; Tanya Brown; Steven Cain; Ken Cheslin;
David Clark; Ian Collier; Chris Cooper; Dave Cox; John Dallman; Brenda Daverin; Robert Daverin;

Steve Davies; Giulia de Cesare; Vincent Docherty; Christine Donaldson; Paul Dormer; Martin Easterbrook; Tommy Ferguson; Mike Ford; Eve Harvey; John Harvey; Julian Headlong; Dave Hicks; Tim Illingworth; Marcia Kelly Illingworth; Paul Kincaid; Christina Lake; Dave Langford; Alice Lawson; Sue Mason; Pat McMurray; Cheryl Morgan; Caroline Mullan; Phil Nanson; Paul Oldroyd; Harry Payne; Mark Plummer; Sheila Pover; Chris Priest; Peter Redfarn; Mark W Richards; John D Rickett; Yvonne Rowse; Alison Scott; Mike Scott; Martin Smith; Maureen Speller; Kevin Standlee; Marcus Street; Tibs; Lennart Uhlin; Toby (Tobes) Valois; Kathy Westhead; Donya Hazard White; Bridget Wilkinson; Ben Yalow.

The following Australian and US fans voted through the Australian administrator:

Jenny Ackroyd; Justin Ackroyd; Roy Ferguson; Irwin Hirsh; Kim Huett; John Foyster; Karen Johnson; Mark Loney; Rose Mitchell; Ken Moylan; Janice Murray; Yvonne Rousseau; Lucy Schmeidler; Alan Stewart; Lucy Zinkiewicz

One late vote was received by the European administrator after the midnight Easter Monday deadline, but would have made no difference to the final result.

The administrators thank all those who voted, and offer their congratulations to the winner.

We end with a summary of the current status of the fund:

Prior to the commencement of voting after the Christmas/New Year holiday, and including the bonds of £10 from each of the candidates, the European end of the fund stood at £1122.07. A total of £390 was collected in voting fees by the European administrator, with £89.50 being passed on from last year's Novacon auction. There were additional donations of £15, from Sue Jones and Cedric Knight, and US\$40, from Erwin S Strauss; and there will be further proceeds to come from the Eastercon auctions. For now, however, the European end of the fund stands at the extremely respectable figure of £1616.57 (not huge by TAFF standards, but nevertheless the highest -- at least as far as the European administrator is aware -- that the European end of the fund has ever been).

The Australian end of the fund currently holds a total of A\$2297.05. The Australian administrator, Karen Pender-Gunn, advises that there will be a Fan Funds Party (covering both DUFF and GUFF) at Aussiecon 3 on at least one night of the convention, with other money-raising activities planned. There will also be a fan-fund auction with GUFF, DUFF, FFANZ and the Ian Gunn Memorial Fund having items available. If you have anything to donate for auction please contact KPG.

European administrator:

Joseph Nicholas, 15 Jansons Road, South Tottenham,

London N15 4JU, UK

e-mail: josephn@globalnet.co.uk

Australian administrator:

Karen Pender-Gunn, P.O. Box 567, Blackburn,

Victoria 3130, Australia

e-mail: fiawol@ozramp.net.au